PENDING TRADE # 15: Week of December 15, 2021

0


Graphic novels. Collective editions. Omnibus. Trades. These are really just words for “awesome way to read comics”. So with this column, we’re going to take a look at all of those related pages hitting comic book stores, bookstores, and online outlets this week! (Note that in some cases the release dates at comic book stores, online retailers, and bookstores are different)

STRANGE ADVENTURES HC
Written by Tom King
Art by Mitch Gerads, Evan Shaner
Posted by DC Comics
Price: $ 39.99
You can find it here: Amazon, Bookshop.org

The editor says: Adam Strange is the hero of Rann, a man famous across the galaxy for his bravery and honor. After leading his adopted homeland to victory in a great planetary war, Adam and his wife Alanna retreat to Earth, where they are greeted with cheers, awards, and parades. But all is not as happy and enjoyable as it seems, as the decisions Adam made in the battles over Rann come back to haunt his family and threaten the entire DC Universe. Now his fate rests in the hands of one of his fellow heroes, Mr. Terrific, who must choose between saving Adam or the world.

Collect STRANGE ADVENTURES # 1-12

What I am saying: King & Gerads’ ongoing creative adventures continue! You add Evan Shaner and… you feast on these visuals! 376 hardcover pages of glory!

X-MEN: HELLFIRE GALA – THE RED CARPET COLLECTION HC
Written by Jonathan Hickman, Leah Williams, Tini Howard, Al Ewing, Vita Ayala, Simon Spurrier, Benjamin Percy, Gerry Duggan, Zeb Wells
Art by Sara Pichelli, Stephen Segovia, Scot Eaton, Marcus To, Nick Dragotta, Matteo Lolli, Valerio Schiti, David Baldeon, Lucas Werneck, Joshua Cassara, Bob Quinn, Pepe Larraz and more!
Posted by Marvel Comics
Price: $ 75.00
You can find it here: Amazon, Bookshop.org

The editor says: “Tonight is the one … who will have all the fireworks.” – Emma Frost.

The Hellfire Gala is the biggest event of the season, and everyone will be in attendance. Krakoa’s best and brightest are all dressed to impress in Jumbo Carnation’s finest creations, and they welcome the Avengers, Fantastic Four, and more familiar, shocking faces to the party to end all the holidays.

As close allies and bitter enemies rub shoulders with perfectly suited shoulders and monotonous deals are negotiated, X-Force is on hand to keep the peace and deal with any unwanted gatecrashers, Krakoa’s first X-Men team. is revealed to the world, and the surprises won don’t end there.

Cancel any other plans – the Gala is the place to be, and you’ll want to be able to say you were there.

Collection: X-Men (2019) # 21 / Marauders (2019) # 21 / Excalibur (2019) # 21 / X-Force (2019) # 20 / New Mutants (2019) # 19 / X-Factor (2020) # 10 / Hellions (2020) # 12 / SWORD (2020) # 6 / Way of X (2021) # 3 / X-Corp (2021) # 2 / Wolverine (2020) # 13 / Planet-Size X-Men (2021) # 1 / Classic X-Men # 7 / Marvel Voices: Pride / Hellfire Gala Guide

What I am saying: If you are an avid reader of this current X-run, then a Deluxe Edition bringing together all of the Hellfire Gala is the way to read it !!

RIDE WITH IT
Written by Lee Durfey-Lavoie
Art by Veronica Agarwal
Posted by Random House Graphic
Price: $ 20.99
You can find it here: Amazon, Bookshop.org

The editor says: Starting college is hard enough when you don’t know anyone; it’s even harder when you’re shy. A contemporary mid-level graphic novel for fans of Guts and Real Friends on how treating anxiety and OCD can affect everyday life.

As long as Maggie gets the right number, nothing can go wrong… can it?

Maggie just wants to finish her freshman year of college. But between finding the best after-school clubs, trying to make friends, and avoiding the supposed monster on school grounds, she’s going through a rough patch … so she might need a little help with her twenty dice. faces. But what if Maggie gets the wrong number?

A touching mid-level graphic novel that explores the complexity of anxiety, OCD, and learning to trust yourself and the world around you.

“A charming and compassionate story that is sure to resonate with anyone who has ever stayed awake worrying.” –Gale Galligan, adapter and illustrator of the Baby-Sitters Club graphic novel series

What I am saying: “For Guts fans and real friends” – that’s all you need. But, more seriously, a relatable comic book for kids with anxiety and OCD? These stories change lives and are entertaining as hell.

LEONE: NOTES ON AN OGN LIFE
Created by Carmine Di Giandomenico, Francesco Colafella
Posted by Image Comics
Price: $ 16.99
You can find it here: Amazon, Bookshop.org

The editor says: Celebrated designer CARMINE DI GIANDOMENICO (The Flash, Daredevil: Battlin ‘Jack Murdock) and rising star FRANCESCO COLAFELLA present the true story of LEONE, an Italian who immigrated to the United States to find fortune, freedom and jazz and l ‘left again to save lives. From the stage of his last concert in New York, to the sound of his trumpet, Leone recounts his past and his future in an emotional and non-linear memory made of music and memories.

Put yourself in the shoes of an American immigrant in this topical story about spreading love and strength wherever you go and never forgetting where you came from.

What I am saying: I love this kind of story, and I get serious Monk vibes here, but with its own special hooks via superstar Carmine Di Giandomenico’s electric artwork. A must-have from the “capless” set.

NIGHT WING FLIGHT. 1: JUMP IN THE LIGHT HC
Written by Tom Taylor
Illustrations by Bruno Redondo, Rick Leonardi, Neil Edwards, Scott Hanna, Andy Lanning, Adriano Lucas
Posted by DC Comics
Price: $ 24.99
You can find it here: Amazon, Bookshop.org

The editor says: Nightwing is back and his will to protect Blüdhaven has never been stronger! But his adopted city elected a new mayor by the name of Zucco. When Nightwing calls on Batgirl to investigate the politician with the same name as the man who murdered her parents, she uncovers details that will shock and fundamentally change the hero.

Dick Grayson’s big heart protected those who were persecuted by bullies in his youth, fought evil alongside Batman as Robin, and pledged his newly inherited wealth to enrich Blüdhaven as Nightwing. Her kindness and generosity have always guided her life. But now, a new villain lurks the alleys, taking the hearts of the city’s most vulnerable. Who is this terrifying new menace named Heartless, and will he be able to resist ripping out all of Blüdhaven’s biggest heart?

The numbers 78-83 are gathered in this evolution of Infinite Frontier Nightwing.

What I am saying: Tom Taylor and Bruno Redondo are creative forces to be reckoned with, revolutionizing characters no one thought they could be, advancing the world of cape comics in unexpected and wonderful ways. Now it’s Nightwing’s turn.

… And with that, I’m calling this week over. Happy reading, comic book fans!

You can find your local comic book store using Comic Shop Locator here: https://www.comicshoplocator.com

Any purchase made through the retailer links provided in this article may result in this site receiving a share of that sale, which is really appreciated! As an Amazon Associate, this site earns qualifying purchases. As a Bookshop.org affiliate, this site earns qualifying purchases.


Share.

Comments are closed.