DC: 10 surprising facts about Kingdom Come

0

kingdom come by Mark Waid and Alex Ross is one of, if not the greatest, DC comics of all time. First released in 1996, the Elseworlds tale of a Justice League replaced by the angry and violent heroes of the new world has continued to live on as a wonderful showcase of the duo’s creative talents. It’s also a microcosm of what makes the DC Universe so timeless and engaging.

RELATED: Mark Waid’s Must-Try Comics, Ranked

With the books’ enduring popularity and continued use as inspiration for future DC projects, it’s a fantastic time for any fan to take a look back at the background and making of the classic. .

ten It was originally introduced to writer James Robinson


Starman DCAU

Before Mark Waid (who was simultaneously writing his epic run on the flash) was brought in as the writer for the planned Alex Ross epic, it was actually James Robinson who the artist first saw as the ideal writer. Robinson is well known for his time on Justice Society of America and its fantastic star man series. Ross saw Robinson as someone trying to reach the same methodical heights as Alan Moore, who previously pitched an alternate future tale for DC titled Twilight of the Superheroes. Ultimately, it was DC who recommended Waid to Ross, whose encyclopedic knowledge of company lore made him a perfect candidate for the ambitious title.

9 Mark Waid’s First Eureka Moment Was the End of Superman


On May 8, 2020, in an interview with Mark Waid on DC Daily, the esteemed writer spoke about the initial issues he encountered while forming the series’ storyline. The scale was large and played across decades of DC history and hundreds of characters. Waid was impressed with Ross’ speech but wasn’t sure he was the right fit for the job. It wasn’t until the image of Superman putting on his Clark Kent glasses once more struck Waid, who claimed he finally “got it” and quickly began plotting the series.


8 Ross’s use of paint changed the way lettering was applied


Kingdom Come Nightwing Starfire Nightstar 3

When the comics are scripted, they are usually sent to the artist who, after completing the breakdowns and the planning stage, will put a pencil to paper and draw each page of the book on nearly a foot wide boards. long. However, due to Alex Ross’ famous use of gouache paints, Kingdom Come lettering and most of the artist’s work had to be applied using a layer of acetate. Todd Klein provided the story letters after Peter Tomasi mapped the location of each word bubble.


7 There were two half sequels


let your kingdom come

As some fans may know, the universe in which kingdom come The series was retroactively established as Earth-22 in the DC Multiverse. This is largely due to the two direct sequels: The kingdom and let your kingdom come. The kingdom was published in 1998 by original author Mark Waid with illustrations by Ariel Olivetti and Mike Zeck. Set during the birth of Clark and Diana’s child, this short two-part story was made up of several connections and established the concept of Hypertime for the DC Universe. Hypertime was a fix for continuity errors that established time in the DC world(s) as a river that often splits but just as often re-forms. (Hence why characters would randomly forget some events, but remember others).

RELATED: DC: The Justice Society of America’s Most Brutal Battles

let your kingdom come was a screenplay featured in Justice Society of America by Geoff Johns, Alex Ross, Dale Eaglesham, Ruy José and Drew Geraci. It saw the Superman of Earth-22 come into conflict with the New Earth JSA as the titular team attempts to make a decision regarding the apocalyptic Magog. Although Ross has explicitly stated that the story is not a direct sequel to his original series, it depicts the future events of Earth-22 up to the era of the Legion of Super-Heroes in the 30th century.


6 Marvel has its own kingdom come


Venom Earth X Spider-Man

kingdom comeThe popularity and influence of cannot be overstated. In a 1997 issue of the late great Wizard magazine, artist Alex Ross was asked to come up with possible future concepts for Marvel Comics’ roster of characters based on his work with DC. The issue sold incredibly well and it wasn’t long before House of Ideas contacted Ross to expand their concept into a full series.

RELATED: 5 Reasons Kingdom Come Is The Best Future Story (& 5 Reasons It’s Earth X)

Although not as well received as its ancestor, the 1999 Earth-X by Jim Krueger and John Paul Leon presents a world where all human beings have acquired superhuman abilities. The common thread of the story was how classic heroes like Captain America, Spider-Man, and Wolverine would adapt to the new status quo.


5 Brian Azzarello was the visual base for 666


666 Kingdom come

Part of kingdom comeThe central concept of was to confront the classic age of heroes with the then burgeoning era of dark, angry, gun-toting mercenaries popularized by newcomer Image Comics. Many new characters have been created in the vein of Cable, Spawn, and the anti-hero superteam Youngblood. One such individual was the self-mutilated man-machine 666, whose striking appearance was based on the aesthetic of Judge Dredd and fellow punk rock comic book creator Brian Azzarello. Azzarello is known for his dark, mature interpretations of comic book characters, best exemplified in his Joker graphic novel with artist Lee Bermejo.


4 Alex Ross hid the monkeys in Kingdom Come


The kingdom of monkeys is coming

One of the best parts of kingdom come is its readability. Each Alex Ross panel is full of deep references and characters from DC history, which was then over 50 years old. However, there are also several cameos that comic book fans might not notice at first glance. Ross was a self-proclaimed fan of 1960s rock band The Monkees, so much so that he ended up writing immaculate copies of the band with the approval of surviving members and their estates. This fandom is most evident in the group’s snapped appearance in Kingdom Come #3 where they can be seen meeting other members of the newly reformed Justice League of America. sergeant. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band also makes a quick appearance as Metal Men-like cybernetic robots in the same issue.




3 Mark Waid sees the coming kingdom as a cautionary tale


Many fans of Mark Waid and Alex Ross’ epic are used to seeing the series as the only “true” ending to the DC Universe. If there were to be a definite future for the characters outside of their timeless, ageless, status quo-bound selves, it would be the events depicted in the 1996 series. However, in the aforementioned DC interview with Mark Waid Daily, the writer explains that he views the story as a cautionary tale rather than a premonition. “We DO NOT want things to end like this,” the writer humorously explained to interviewer Hector Navarro, and by extension, fans.


2 The main character was based on Alex Ross’ father


Kingdom Come feature

The heart of kingdom comeThe story of is the disillusioned preacher Norman McCay to whom the enigmatic Specter bonds so that he can judge the evil about to be visited on the world. While using Norman’s faith as a parallel to humanity’s faith in superhumans (as well as the world), the book never crosses the line into becoming a piece of Christian conversion and preachy propaganda. Norman’s faith is arguably one of the best-realized uses of religion in comics to date, and much of that real human emotion comes from Norman’s real-life base, Clark Norman Ross: Father of the artist Alex Ross and visual reference for the character.


1 Alex Ross no longer receives payment for his designs and concepts


Brandon Routh as Kingdom Come Superman on comic book cover

Despite the story’s iconography used in projects like the CW’s Crisis on Infinite Earths adaptation and much of DC’s own lore, artist Alex Ross revealed in an interview on John Siuntres’ Word Balloon podcast that he no longer receives payments for his pivotal contributions to the comics company. Sadly, lest a new deal be struck, Ross is one of many comic creators to be treated as indispensable despite their indispensable creations. Fortunately, Ross can be supported with memorabilia and art purchases through his website alexrossart.com.

NEXT: The 5 Best Marvel Covers From Alex Ross (& The 5 Best DC Covers)

Kang, Wally West, Ultron


following
10 Strongest Marvel Villains Wally West Would Beat


About the Author

Share.

Comments are closed.